Posted by: Onion | July 28, 2011

Yuru Yuri – 02

The first thing I need to say: Thank you for waiting.

The second thing I need to say: I hope I did things right…

Yep, I took a stab at encoding, and I must say, I think I did a pretty awesome job. I couldn’t see a difference in video quality.

I spent many many hours trying to find the best way to get this stuff encoded, and I think I found a method that works. Seriously, I got so caught up it it all that my desktop is almost completely filled with icons and files and copies of files.

Alrighty, some things I should explain so that nobody chews my head off. I wasn’t sure how to do the crc32, but I think I figured it out. I created a torrent by simply using the defaults in uTorrent(Genichiro[Bluewolf] usually does this) because I don’t know how to use our tracker. For now, the file will only be available by torrent because irc eludes me. I’ll make a ddl eventually. Lastly, I didn’t put in any karaoke effects because I couldn’t get it to look how I wanted it to; I’d rather have it with no effects rather than crappy effects.

Finally, I’ll pretty up this post and add a section for Yuru Yuri to the blog tomorrow. Right now I’m pretty wiped out. I’ll also try and create an avi or mp4. Whichever people want more. Coming up soon: Episode 1 v2 and then episode 3.

I’m sure I forgot to write a million things, but oh well…

THE TORRENT!(Over at Nyaa) It took me over an hour to get this torrent to uplaod to Nyaa. I’d like to give a special shoutout to Pilot-kun. Thanks to Pilot-kun, of Chihiro-subs, I was able to upload a torrent on nyaa. Thanks, you~~

Yuru Yuri – 02 MKV

MKV: Torrent | DDL

If anyone sees anything wrong with the encode, the subs, the typesetting, etc. please post a comment about it so I can fix it up and create a v2. I’ll also be happy to listen to any other type of comment as well 😀


Responses

  1. (っ⌒‿⌒)っ

    • Thanks for the help and encouragement! >:D

  2. Thanks a lot! Still downloading the torrent, but from your screenshot it looks fine. I’ve been waiting for Tonde subs since episode 1; putting typesetting+karaoke aside, which can be added in a v2, you have the best translation.

    What did you end up doing to encode the video? I’m curious because I was thinking of getting some raws from Nyaa and muxing my own copies of anime without any decent releases.

  3. Well, I’m not an encoder, so I simply went with xvid4psp(though I did try megui for a few days to no avail). It took me a few tries and a lot of hours to get the settings in order, so it’s not like I just plugged it in and picked any old preset. I worked for it! >:D

    Thanks for your support. We pride ourselves on our quality. Expect more frequent releases from now on.

  4. Many thnks Bro…

  5. wooow thanks for releasing…
    even late…
    ^_^

  6. Currently at Otakon, so I’m not going to be able to do much of anything. Totally just realized for forgot to leave my tracker on before I left. Oops. Anyway, if anyone sees this:

    That’s me. See you there!

    • Dude you are brave and freaking awesome in my books. Have fun.

  7. Thanks for your effort, Onion. Impressive encoding job, 190.1 MB for an anime episode is amazing. Let’s see if it looks any good. I’m also looking forward to the karaoke.

    Nice costume, Genichiro.

    • Let us know what you think of everything after youve had a chance to watch it 😀

  8. Video quality was decent. But what happened to the font for the episode subs?

    Dai ji ken -> “This is a big event!”
    The title of the song is “Yuriyurarararayuruyuri Daijiken”. If you were to translate “dai ji ken” as part of the title, it’d probably come out different, right?

    Also, first line of the OP’s chorus:
    桜咲き = sakura saki
    “Cherry blossoms bloom” or something. (now, I don’t know a whole lot about kanji, but I thought 咲 itself was “saki”, like the anime Saki, where the title and the respective character’s name is just that kanji, what’s with the “ki” hiragana in the booklet?)

    Better yet, try this on for size:

    Sorry if it’s too small to read. Also, as a plus, you might want to add those kanji from the booklet into your karaoke. I know some groups do that.

    “I am Toshinou Kyouko of the Student Council” – I thought she said something about being the president of it too. I heard “seitokaichou” in there.

    Now this isn’t anything big, but
    “Next time on Yuru yuri”

    Anyway, overall, B+. 190.1 MB for 720p at that quality is especially impressive, compared to 250-300.

  9. Wow. That’s a lot of stuff I missed.

    The font didn’t work?! Oh mah gawd. I attched it to the sub file… I guess I had to directly mux the ttf to the mkv? I really meant to check if the font worked but I forgot. /facepalm.

    About putting the kanji in, I wasn’t planning on it. But perhaps I’ll spruce up the translation using the link you posted. Thanks. Also, you’re right. It is “sakura saki” Sakura blossoms bloom. And yes, Kyouko does say she’s the President.

    Finally, I forgot to capitalize Yuru Yuri… I have officially failed. That’ll get fixed too.

    Alright. Thanks for looking at it, I’ll try and fix it up.

    • Forgot to say this, v2 in the making. Hopefully that’ll settle everything with episode 2.

      • Okay, looking forward to it. Do your best~


Leave a Reply

Categories

